Enroll | Learn More Forgot Login ID?

Investments/InsuranceLearn More | Login


More Than a Half-Century of Service

University of Virginia Community Credit Union has grown and expanded over the years as we strive to better serve the needs of communities in Central Virginia. During the 1950s, a number of government agencies, universities, and corporations in the region created credit unions to meet the financial needs of their employees, and UVA Hospital was among them. With the help of the state controller, the University of Virginia Hospital Employees Credit Union was founded in 1954 by Daniel D. Colcock, and a group of University of Virginia Hospital administrators.

Building Our Base

The Credit Union flourished and extended its membership to other employee groups while absorbing a number of smaller local credit unions. In 1976, the credit union changed its name to the University of Virginia Employees Credit Union. Soon after, it merged with credit unions serving employees of Martha Jefferson Hospital, the City of Charlottesville, Albemarle County, and other organizations.

Reaching Out to Central Virginia

In 1997: The year 1997 was a pivotal one for the Credit Union. Small banks around the country were closing or being absorbed by much larger competitors. In response, the Credit Union's leadership decided that we had a responsibility to offer the advantages of local banking to more people in Central Virginia. With the approval of the State Corporation Commission, the Credit Union adopted a community charter and changed its name to the University of Virginia Community Credit Union. As a result of this, the Credit Union could offer membership privileges to anyone who resided or worked in the County of Albemarle or the City of Charlottesville.

In 2001: The Credit Union was granted a charter that extended Credit Union membership to those who lived, worked, or attended school in the City of Charlottesville and the counties of Albemarle, Fluvanna, and Greene. This was the first time that the Virginia State Corporation Commission ever granted a state-chartered credit union a multicounty community charter.

In 2004: We received another charter expansion that granted membership eligibility to individuals and businesses alike in our existing field of membership, along with the counties of Louisa, Madison, Nelson, and Orange.

In 2015-2016: We merged with Northern Piedmont Federal Credit Union. This provided the opportunity to expand our service area to include Culpeper, Fauquier, and Rappahannock counties.

In 2021: We continued to grow thanks to our members. We applied for and were granted a further expansion to our Charter. Today our membership is open to everyone living, working, or attending school in, and businesses located throughout Virginia’s Central Piedmont and Valley area with the addition of the following service areas: Amherst County, Augusta County, Bath County, Bedford County, Buckingham County, Campbell County, Cumberland County, City of Harrisonburg, Highland County, City of Lynchburg, Rockbridge County, Rockingham County, City of Staunton, and City of Waynesboro.

Learn about membership eligibility and how to join a financial institution dedicated to meeting your financial needs.

Printer Friendly and PDF